Move Orphans to Another Forum

Always wanted to « secure » your administration process when you edited/deleted forums?… Wanted to speedup the move of thousands of threads before deleting a forum?

This engine is very simply to understand, and is missing from vBulletin. I coded the original version inside Invision Board, and when i came to vBulletin i thought it was already integrated, but even 5 years after, it’s still missing.

When you delete a forum, with the default vBulletin, here is the screen you have:

nex_move_orphans_to_forum_before.jpg

This is kind of unsafe, you know nothing about what you’re about to delete, and you have no idea what to do with it. You are forced to move all these threads before thinking to delete the forum, and you are not always sure you’re deleting the right forum… So here is the solution:

nex_move_orphans_to_forum_with.jpg

Pretty different, isn’t it?

The dropdown is the list of your forums, the exact same dropdown you have when you Edit your forum and navigate thru it to choose a forum.

Once you submit this form, your forum will be deleted, BUT before that, all the threads are moved where you choose to, or not… 🙂

Published by Jean-Pierre

Père de famille de 9 enfants, travaille à la maison, partage sa vie avec une femme passionée et très occupée!

Join the Conversation

4 Comments

  1. Really really really really REALLY f*cking awesome!!!! 😀

    Did I ever tell you that I love you, [user]nexia[/user]? 😉

  2. hum, again OBK, i think you are right, i love myself too… ROFL

    ok, updated again, i forgot to attach the french language … lol

  3. Though vaguer, it’d be accurate to refer to this as the Win and Awesome modification.

    Thank you for your work, Mr. Nexia.

Leave a comment

Ce site utilise Akismet pour réduire les indésirables. En savoir plus sur comment les données de vos commentaires sont utilisées.

%d blogueurs aiment cette page :